In stock
Product Code:
Vinyl LP
Label Name:
Deutsche Grammophon
Double vinyl LP pressing. Original soundtrack to the 2016 motion picture composed and produced by Johann Johannsson. The Paramount Pictures film Arrival is the composers third cinematic collaboration with French-Canadian director Denis Villeneuve, following on from last year's crime thriller Sicario, which garnered Johannsson an Oscar nomination for best original score. Arrival stars Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker, Adams playing the lead role of a linguist who attempts to communicate with the alien intelligence controlling a fleet of spacecraft that has suddenly and ominously appeared at sites all around the globe. As mankind teeters on the brink of global war, she and her team embark on a race against time to find out why these craft have come to earth. More than a conventional sci-fi thriller, this is a thoughtful, intellectual drama with a genre twist. Johannsson worked with several singers and vocal ensembles and combined both classical and avant-garde elements in his compositions, augmenting his already unique approach of combining orchestral writing with digital sound processing. Among those appearing are the prestigious Theatre of Voices, conducted by Paul Hillier, and artists such as Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe and Hildur Guonadottir, known for their unique musicianship. Johannsson also integrated some found sounds from the legendary avant-garde vocalist Joan La Barbara into his score. The soundtrack was recorded in Prague, Copenhagen and his native Reykjavik.
  1. Arrival
  2. Heptapod B
  3. Sapir-Whorf
  4. Hydraulic Lift
  5. First Encounter
  6. Transmutation at a Distance
  7. Around the Clock News
  8. Xenolinguistics
  9. Ultimatum
  10. Principle of Least Time
  11. Hazmat
  12. Hammers and Nails
  13. Xenoanthropology
  14. Non-Zero-Sum Game
  15. Properties of Explosive Material
  16. Escalation
  17. Decyphering
  18. One of Twelve
  19. Rise
  20. Kangaru
  21. On the Nature of Daylight - Louisa Fuller, Natalia Bonner, John Metcalfe, Philip Sheppard, Chris Worsey
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Arrival
Your Rating
© 2018 The Sound of Vinyl. All rights reserved.