Dreamboat Annie (LIMITED EDITION)

In stock
Product Code:
Red Vinyl LP
Label Name:

Grab your limited-edition copy of Heart's groundbreaking debut album, Dreamboat Annie, which contains such indelible songs as "Magic Man," Crazy On You," "White Lightning and Wine" and its ethereal title track. The album, which originally came out on the indie Vancouver-based label Mushroom Records in August 1975, became the springboard to the group's legendary Hall of Fame career.  

Dreamboat Annie was an anomaly when it first came out. At a time when disco dominated the airwaves, Heart's debut album was an eclectic affair that ran the gamut from hard-core rockers to acoustic ballads, made all the more unique by two young women fronting a group that sounded more like a distaff Led Zeppelin.  

Dreamboat Annie was released in Canada by Mushroom Records, following the success of the second single, "Magic Man," an autobiographical song about Ann leaving home for Vancouver to pursue a romance. "Magic Man" initially got airplay on a Montreal station, earning the band a slot opening for Rod Stewart in that city in October 1975. To meet the demand, Mushroom Records formed a U.S. division, releasing the album in the U.S. in February 1976, attracting airplay in Seattle, and gradually spreading across the country, as the group went personally from station to station to promote it.

The album was a great success – it peaked at #7 on the Billboard 200 and went platinum, selling one million copies. The three singles all became FM rock radio staples and pop hits: "Magic Man" went to #9 on the Billboard Hot 100, followed by "Crazy On You," which peaked at #35, while the epic title track climbed to #42.  Heart's follow-up album, Little Queen, was released on their new label, CBS Records, in 1977, and the rest is history.

  1. "Magic Man"
  2. "Dreamboat Annie (Fantasy Child)"
  3. "Crazy On You"
  4. "Soul of the Sea:
  5. "Dreamboat Annie"
  6. "White Lightning & Wine"
  7. "(Love Me Like Music) I'll Be Your Song"
  8. "Sing Child"
  9. How Deep It Goes"
  10. "Dreamboat Annie (Reprise)"
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Dreamboat Annie (LIMITED EDITION)
Your Rating
© 2018 The Sound of Vinyl. All rights reserved.