Product Code:
180-gram Vinyl LP
Label Name:
RELEASE DATE: 23/02/2020
180 gm vinyl three LP pressing. The most ambitious jazz album to arrive in ages, Los Angeles saxophonist/composer Kamasi Washington's eagerly awaited debut clocks in at 172 minutes with never a dull moment. While his terrific 10-piece band already pack a wallop thanks to their doubled basses and drums, Washington usually embellishes them with a string section and angelic choir. Like his luminous playing on Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp a Butterfly, Washington solos with power and grace here. Versions of "Cherokee" and Terence Blanchard's "Malcolm's Theme" nod to jazz tradition, but it's originals like "Changing of the Guard" that signal his aspirations.
  1. Change of the Guard
  2. Isabelle
  3. Final Thought
  4. The Next Step
  5. Askim
  6. The Rhythm Changes
  7. Leroy and Lanisha
  8. Re Run
  9. Miss Understanding
  10. Henrietta Our Hero
  11. Seven Prayers
  12. Cherokee
  13. The Magnificent 7
  14. Re Run Home
  15. Malcolm's Theme
  16. Clair de Lune
  17. The Message
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Epic
Your Rating
Brand new, factory-sealed item. Vinyl LPs are shipped in a sturdy cardboard mailer and delivered via US Postal Service. Most orders arrive in 5 to 7 business days. (International customers shipped via DHL Express; delivery times vary by location)