Hawk Is Howling

In stock
Product Code:
Vinyl LP
Label Name:
Pias America
RELEASE DATE: 21/04/2019
Mogwai's sixth studio album is, as one might expect, a brooding and atmospheric collection, full of the band's exceptional use of dynamics and creation of hypnotic soundscapes. The Hawk Is Howling is, however, partly more reflective than previous releases, perhaps sharing more in common with 2001's Rock Action. Instrumentally the band have somewhat branched out, utilizing light synthesizers on tracks such as 'The Sun Smells Too Loud'. for the first time since their debut Mogwai Young Team LP, Andy Miller was on production duties. Recorded in notable Glasgow studio Chem 19 (run by the Chemikal Underground record label), this release sees Mogwai simultaneously stepping forward musically and returning to their roots.
  1. I'm Jim Morrison I'm Dead
  2. Batcat
  3. Daphne and the Brain
  4. Local Authority
  5. Sun Smells Too Loud
  6. Kings Meadow
  7. I Love You, I'm Going to Blow Up Your School
  8. Scotland's Shame
  9. Thank You Space Expert
  10. Precipice
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Hawk Is Howling
Your Rating