The Crack

In stock
Product Code:
Vinyl LP
Label Name:
UMC / Virgin EMI
RELEASE DATE: 19/07/2019

The band’s debut album, released in 1979, contains the UK hit singles "Babylon’s Burning" and "Something That I Said". Very much fitting the era’s protest atmosphere – the white-reggae of "Jah War", which was written in the aftermath of the Southall unrest and the over-use of force by the Metropolitan Police’s Special Patrol Group in the ‘70s, was also released as a single. The album is both anthemic, with simmering roots reggae and dub, but seared by classic rock guitar leads, totally redefining the genre and combining to create an ominous atmosphere of paranoia and dread reflective of the times in which it was made.

  • 40th anniversary reissue 
  • Re-mastered by Tim Turan at Turan Audio
  • Cut to vinyl at Abbey Road Studios
  1. Babylon’s Burning (side one)
  2. Dope for Guns (side one)
  3. S.U.S. (side one)
  4. Something That I Said (side one)
  5. You’re Just A… (side one)
  6. It Was Cold (side one)
  7. Savage Circle (side two)
  8. Jah War (side two)
  9. Criminal Mind (side two)
  10. Backbiter (side two)
  11. Out of Order (side two)
  12. Human Punk (live at The Marquee, London, 19 July 1979) (side two)
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Crack
Your Rating
Brand new, factory-sealed item. Vinyl LPs are shipped in a sturdy cardboard mailer and delivered via US Postal Service. Most orders arrive in 5 to 7 business days. (International customers shipped via DHL Express; delivery times vary by location)