In stock
Product Code:
Clear With Orange Swirl Vinyl LP
Label Name:
RELEASE DATE: 20/05/2019

Limited edition! Less than 1000 units available worldwide

Translucent with Orange Smoky Swirls

Whip-Smart, Phair’s September 1994 major-label debut, followed on the heels of her galvanizing, indie-released grrrl-power manifesto, June 1993’s critically acclaimed Exile in Guyville. Whip-Smart, co-produced by Phair and Brad Wood (Pete Yorn, Sunny Day Real Estate), built on the patented “Girly-Sound” alter-ego promise of Exile with the hard-hitting and quite unapologetic lust in the groove of “Supernova” (which shot to Number 6 on the Modern Rock Tracks Chart), the green-eyed percussive sneer of “Jealousy,” and the minimalist burble of the title track, which repeatedly namechecks the chorus of Malcolm McLaren’s joyous 1983 new-wave ode to jump-rope gymnastics, “Double Dutch.”

  1. Chopsticks
  2. Supernova
  3. Support System
  4. X-Ray Man
  5. Shane
  6. Nashville
  7. Go West
  8. Cinco De Mayo
  9. Dogs Of L.A.
  10. Whip-Smart
  11. Jealousy
  12. Crater Lake
  13. Alice Springs
  14. May Queen
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Whip-smart (LIMITED EDITION)
Your Rating